PDA

View Full Version : Is it worth me applying to NATS?

foghorn
27th Sep 2002, 15:32
I have a couple of questions, I wonder if you'd be kind enough to answer honestly.

I want to work in aviation. Full stop. Over the last four years I've been chasing the goal of being a pilot, got the licence a year ago, not a sniff of a job since. I'm becoming very daunted by the length of the queue for jobs from here at the back, and I becoming really doubtful as to whether I'll ever get a job, especially with the threat of war in the gulf - you just don't hear of those people who fall by the wayside, yet there's a big gap between the number of UK professional licence holders and the number of UK airline jobs.

After I started training as a pilot it opened my eyes in a way: I actually became more and more interested in ATC (partially thanks to a Heathrow Tower visit: with thanks to ATCO Two).

Now I'm wondering if it's worth applying to NATS.

I expect that there would be some pretty big questions asked at interview regarding my CPL/IR and commitment to career as an ATCO - my question to you is, has it happened before, and do you think it's worth it for me?

I have to act fast as I am 29 3/4 years old. I'm of the mind that there's only one way to find out how my licence will be received and that's to apply - I'm possibly answering my own question here!

Finally, what's the salary for an ATCO at college. I've heard £22,000 mentioned, but I think that might be after qualification.

Thanks for your help - and e-mail me personally if you want to say things privately.

cheers!
foggy.

goatgruff
27th Sep 2002, 19:23
Go for it Foggy!
As you've already intimated, they will ask you what you'll do if things pick up and the "once in a lifetime" flying opportunity is offered to you the day after you've validated at your first unit.