PDA

View Full Version : What exactly causes vapour trails?

Capt Hollywood
18th Sep 2002, 10:05
Can someone please explain exactly how the vapour trails that you see behind jets at flight levels are formed?

Always behind curious about that one!

Cheers.

That was supposed to say always 'been' curious about that one!

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
18th Sep 2002, 10:16
There's a significant opinion, mainly in the US, that they're caused by chemicals being sprayed on the unknowing population beneath. A neighbour of mine, writing to the local newspaper, declared that they are polluting exhaust fumes from jets... which merge together and form the dark, overcast, clouds which we see so often in the UK.

I don't recall mention of either of these reasons when I studied Met!

BlueEagle
18th Sep 2002, 10:30
Warm, moist air being flung out into extremely dry and cold air.
Warm, moist air then has to vapourise and becomes visible, (usually). It is all to do with the ability, or non abilitiy, of cold, dry air to absorb warm moist air. Basic physics really.

Capt Hollywood
18th Sep 2002, 11:18
Thanks BlueEagle, not quite sure where the 'moist' air comes from though. I understand the concept as in Met where warm moist air is pushed up into the atmosphere, cools and so condenses and forms water vapour (clouds). But all the engine is doing is compressing the air, heating it and throwing it out the back! Where does the moisture come from? There is probably an obvious answer here that I'm missing, baring in mind I don't go anywhere near flight levels in my helicopter!

BlueEagle
18th Sep 2002, 11:36
The exhaust from the jet engine is, comparatively speaking, moist since it comprises the residue of the burnt fuel, much more moist than the ambient air at those altitudes.

john_tullamarine
18th Sep 2002, 12:07