PDA

View Full Version : Icao cpl/ir to transport canada cpl/ir

khalidazam
1st Jan 2024, 08:25
I need guidance from Canadian pilots .i have done my icao cpl/ir and having 197 hours of flying experience on c172p I want to convert my icao cpl to tc Canada cpl . i want to move Canada to continue my aviation journey as an international pilot have no idea about flying schools there neither i know the visa process so i need some help from an expert there . can i get a job after getting Canadian cpl . which path will be suitable for international pilots to follow need help .

India Four Two
3rd Jan 2024, 04:36
Hi Khalid,

Welcome to PPRuNe. I’m not a commercial pilot but I have flown in Canada for a long time and I have some background knowledge.

Anyone can come to Canada to obtain a pilot’s licence. All you need is a visa and enough money.

The tricky part is working in Canada after you get your licence. Generally you either need to be a Canadian citizen or a Landed Immigrant. There may be some exceptions - I remember reading that some new CPL holders could stay in Canada for a while, working as an instructor.

My advice is talk to Harv’s Air and ask them:
https://www.harvsair.com/international-students/

I have no personal knowledge of Harv’s but they are often recommended on PPRuNe.

Good luck

PS See here:
https://www.harvsair.com/international-students/employment-and-foreign-work-permits-need-editing/

+TSRA
3rd Jan 2024, 16:38
Lots of great flying schools, of which Harv's is one. So too are Mitchinsons, the Victoria Flying Club, Spectrum Airways, and the Moncton Flying Club.

So the first question is not the school, but where in Canada do you want to live? There is no sense in giving recommendations for a school in one location if you want to live on the other side of the country; it's just too big for that!