PDA

View Full Version : Brake Cooling A320

Odins Raven
22nd Jun 2023, 15:26
I’m new to the Airbus, having previously flown Boeing and other types.

Since there is no brake cooling table, is there a particular technique to work out whether I should be landing with max reverse to limit brake temps? I want to use idle reverse as much as possible but I don’t want the brakes to be amber by the time I push back / reach the runway.

For info: Our fleet DOES NOT have brake fans and the turnaround times vary from 45 minutes to 1 hour.

Any help would be much appreciated.

321XLR
22nd Jun 2023, 15:37
This article may be useful:

https://safetyfirst.airbus.com/take-care-of-your-brakes/

New-ish to Airbus (1000 hrs now) but still learning, I have used the Airbus Safety First site many times

airseb
23rd Jun 2023, 09:16
You can find the tables in the MEL at the brake temp indicator item,
don’t have my ipad with me so can’t be more specific

revida
23rd Jun 2023, 12:41
it's essential to assess the ambient temperature.
When conditions are particularly warm outside, brake temperatures tend to heat up more rapidly and using maximum reverse thrust may help decrease them significantly. Under such circumstances, using maximum reverse thrust may also be beneficial in order to help lower temperatures during landing and reduce brake temperatures further.
However, in cooler environments you should switch to idle reverse thrust to reduce wear on the brakes and ensure they won't overheat by the time your plane lands or you reach its runway destination.