PDA

View Full Version : Any experienced guys suffered loss of confidence?

adam84
12th Jan 2023, 21:51
Anyone have any experience of a sudden complete lack of flying confidence? I’ve been flying the 320 for almost 8 years now, over 4000 hours from the right seat, mostly uneventful, never needed any additional training. However the last 6 months I have completely lost confidence flying approaches and landings, particularly in windy/gusty conditions. Messing up a landing last year on a gusty day, ballooning the aircraft leading to a baulked landing is still playing in my mind, first time it’s happened to me.

Now the overthinking and anxiety go into overdrive when I see the dreaded forecast before a days flying. “Is my seat position right, to high to low, when am I taking power on/off, where am I looking in terms of aiming point/opposite threshold”, flare height etc.

give me a Cavok day with 10kts on the nose and no issues, I definitely think that improving my scan, staying better on profile and avoiding dipping low/high and getting big A/T changes late on those really gusty sink inducing days would help

The overthinking and anxiety is certainly a character trait, almost seems the more I overthink and worry the worse the result. Any advice greatly appreciated

ScepticalOptomist
12th Jan 2023, 22:18
I think everyone goes through this to some degree in their life.

You seem to have a mature attitude towards identifying the anxiety created and may find help in chatting to someone to help with ways of managing it.

You will get though this and you certainly aren’t alone in your thoughts.

Take care and good on you for having the courage to admit that we’re not always perfect! A lot of our colleagues could learn a lot from that!!

FlightDetent
13th Jan 2023, 02:30
You'll need a change of viewpoint on yourself otherwise this could be a self-fuelling loop. But you already know that and is not changing much, right :}?