PDA

View Full Version : Curious

virtualpilot1460
24th Nov 2022, 18:47
Wondering if anybody can help me try and find a way into RL aviation. I have plenty of virtual experience and i know that it's no comparison to RL experience but this is due to being partially sighted in my left eye, I had a squint operation as a child and did were glasses but I don't no longer, my right eye does about 98% of my seeing and I have always been told I can't fly and I have been rejected by RAF back in 2005 but that was for a ground role.

So I'm asking any pilots that have a similar issue and secured a PPL and are the regs different for Microlight flying? Rather find out as much as I can to maybe avoid a trip down to Gatwick for a medical

Virtual Pilot (Nathan)

Jan Olieslagers
24th Nov 2022, 19:50
Welcome to this forum! Kindly explain what you mean by "RL"? It makes me a bit, err, curious :)

Prop swinger
24th Nov 2022, 21:04
The rules are different for microlights; if you're allowed to drive a car, you can fly a microlight. I don't think monocular vision automatically rules you out from holding a Class 2 medical but you would have to ask an AME (https://www.caa.co.uk/commercial-industry/pilot-licences/find-an-ame/) for the full story.

virtualpilot1460
24th Nov 2022, 22:48
Welcome to this forum! Kindly explain what you mean by "RL"? It makes me a bit, err, curious :)
Real Life

Pilot DAR
25th Nov 2022, 03:05
Welcome Virtual Pilot,

In a nudge nudge, wink wink nice way, I'll say that aviation is real life, it's computer simulations of it which are not real! I mean that truth in a humorous way...

Contact a medical examiner for detail on what can be accepted. The standards are published, and generally, fairly clear. Monocular vision is not disqualifying, though may be limiting. I have known monocular applicants who earned a PPL here in Canada.

Fl1ingfrog
25th Nov 2022, 10:52