PDA

View Full Version : Mach number Question

OZ-FLYBOY
23rd Aug 2002, 07:11
Hi, i just have a question about the mach number. I have been told that an aircraft can not fly at Mach 1 at low levels. i am now reading the"Aeroplane performance,planning &loading for the Air transport Pilot(B727) from trevor Thom" book which i bought a while ago. now i am no airline pilot but just a student pilot but what i dont understand is that the book says that Mach number =
true airspeed
---------------
local speed of sound

It also says "the higher the temperature,the faster the speed of sound.conversely,the lower the temperature,(or higer the altitude) the slower the speed of sound". now my question is: if the temperature lowers as we get higher, than why are aircraft that do speed of sound, flying at such high levels. would this not make speed of travel possible at lower levels due to the higher temps? Please dont forget that i am a student pilot!

thanks

Captain Stable
23rd Aug 2002, 08:27
Mach number = Airspeed / Local Speed of Sound

Speed of sound = K * SqRt (Absolute Temperature)

Therefore, as you go up, the ambient temperature drops.

As the temperature drops, the local speed of sound drops. Your airspeed, remaining constant as measured in knots, becomes closer and closer to Mach 1.

So, on the first equation above, "Airspeed" starts off small relative to "Local Speed of Sound", so "Mach number" is small. The top of the fraction remains constant, but the divisor gets smaller and smaller as you climb. Hence the overall value of the equation increases.

Does that explain it?

niallcooney
23rd Aug 2002, 08:35
OF,

Mach number depends on temperature. For example, if you're flying along at Mach 0.98 and you pass through an area of much lower temperature, you can easily exceed Mach 1. Think of Mach number as an indicated measurement... this is valid at any altitude, i.e, flying at Mach 1 at FL360 @ -57 degrees Celcius would also be Mach 1 at 100ft AGL over the North Pole at