PDA

View Full Version : How do I tell where over land an a/c is....

brockenspectre
17th Aug 2002, 19:30
OK..this is going to sound a little weird maybe, but I have a good sense of 3D space and often imagine aircraft in a 3D holo-environment when I am airborne and on frequency (its OK, I am just a private pilot!) - in fact I think ATC of the 21st century should be holo imaging of the airspace under control!

Anyway...... as I sit here, looking westward in SE London at the end of a sunny August day, the sky is still blue and contrails are marking the path of a/c heading to the north/USA and beyond.

A couple just zoomed past - gotta be up at FL390 or better and really motoring and...I was just trying to figure what part of UK they would actually be over as I see them.... just trying to imagine an equilateral triangle from me to a/c and back to ground!!! silly I suppose but...is there a way to figure where an a/c is like this?

::pours second glass of wine and waits for replies::

:D

bodstrup
17th Aug 2002, 19:48
It's 20 years since I had serious math, so I will try a simpler suggestion ;)

Take a chart of high-level airways and use the most probable going in the right direction to get the path over ground.

Then take a bearing to do a triangulation (I assume that you know where YOU are.

The only missing parameter should be the actual FL.

If the aircraft is cruising af FL 300+ and without following an airway, the theory falls short though.. they could go direct to a NATS entry point ?

Regards
Michael

Agaricus bisporus
18th Aug 2002, 17:21
Isn't there a flight tracking website somewhere that shows you the position of all US and perhaps transatlantic flights too?

All you'd need is the flight no.