PDA

View Full Version : Flight to Lydd, Manston or Biggin Hill?

chrisblore
7th Aug 2002, 19:58
I am about to have my 14th birthday on the 26th August and will be receiving a trial flying lesson. I have been using Microsoft Flight Simulator for 7 years and must have logged about 3000 hours so far... I have also had a trial lesson last year from Southend (EGMC) in a Cessna 152 Aerobat (G-JEET) for about 1/2 hour. We took off, flew up towards Burnham, then made a left hand turn to fly along the sea front. We then made a couple of loops and barrel rolls before making another left hander to land back at Southend. I obviously needed no convincing that flying is the thing for me and I would eventually like to become a Commercial Pilot.
This year, I will be having another trial flight from EGMC and I have the choice of flying to Lydd, Manston or Biggin Hill. Which of these do you think I should take and could you give me an approximation of the flying time to each of these airfields?
Thanks for all your help
Chris Blore

Keef
7th Aug 2002, 22:07
Lydd is the furthest from EGMC, Manston and Biggin probably about the same distance - but Biggin has absurd amounts of traffic sometimes, and you could spend a large part of your time sitting on the ground waiting to get airborne.

I'd suggest Lydd - further, and more interesting things to see on the way.

Flying time will depend on the aircraft you use, whether you go direct or via somewhere, and the wind.

Direct, no wind, I'd expect a 150 or 152 to take about 20 minutes to Biggin and Manston, and about 25 minutes to Lydd.

But hey - why do you wait for birthdays and trial lessons? If you work at it, you can get to know a lot of friendly people at EGMC who will offer you "spare seats" when they are flying somewhere. I've taken folks to the Channel Islands before now, when I've had an empty seat. OK, you can't log it as official training time, but you may well get to pole it anyway.