PDA

View Full Version : Any School recommendations in West Midlands?

supersammy
16th Sep 2018, 14:41
I have this crazy idea in my head. Of becoming a pilot. So I've spent the last 2 days dreaming and watching youtube videos. I've always been interested - but until now didn't think it was possible for a 'normal' person. I am currently a PhD student - but drive HGV's part time. I can earn/save £3k/month and live very frugally to make it happen. So financially I should be able to do it if I save.

Now I realise that I shouldn't get ahead of myself until I've done a test flight. Or doing a medical - no point investing a small fortune and then not passing that. One question - I was reading online you should log any test flights as you can use them for the 45 hours (I expect to take a fair amount more than this) - so should I buy a log book before doing the test flight?

So I wondered if anyone had any advice on a good school in that area? Or if you know of a great one further afield would be okay. I'd rather have a good tester flight so I have some idea if it's for me or not.

Also if anyone in this sort of area is willing to let me come up for a ride I'd really appreciate that. I'd obviously pay whatever is allowed and buy the coffee. I just want to see if it's for me or not.

Glider Steve
18th Sep 2018, 11:13
Hi Supersammy. Well, I'm not really much help but I can tell you that I have started my training at the tender age of 52. I have joined my local glider club which is an awesome way to start. You will have a few clubs close to you. the beauty of glider flying is that it is a very pure way to learn how to control stick/rudder and get some good skills for not much money. My club costs about £400 per year to join and then instruction is free. You pay around a tenner for a winch launch and then about 40-50p per minute you are in the air. Most of the time that's around 15 minutes per launch, but gliders can travel 1000km or more when you know what you're doing ;-)