PDA

View Full Version : EASA or FAA CPL(H)

JackJones
16th May 2018, 11:04
Before I get bashed for not searching, or dredging up same old, same old questions; I have searched PPRUNE, EASA & FAA websites, UK CAA & Google, and can find no real definitive answer to what I am trying to ascertain.

So the score currently, I currently have a PPL(H) with more than enough hours to start a CPL flying course, have added more to my licence than the usual R22, so now have another 3 airframes including turbine helicopters on my licence, and ultimately unsure what my next move ought to be.

Has anyone on here any experience of using an EASA PPL to go and get either a TCAA CPL or FAA CPL, then changing it back to an EASA CPL once gained - or is this just making life extremely difficult for myself?

Ultimately I do want to get my EASA CPL (or whatever we will call it after Brexit), and I do want to fly for a living, but I also want to do it in the most cost effective manner possible.

Can anyone add any constructive advice?

Bravo73
16th May 2018, 13:03
My advice would be to do your training in whatever country/aviation authority that you think that you will end up working in.

If you’ve got a right to work in the USA (and intend living there), get an FAA licence. If you’ve got a European passport but only speak English, I would do your training in the UK. If you speak a European language, consider training in France/Italy/Germany etc* (*delete where applicable).

It might cost you slightly more initially but it will be worth it in the medium to long term. A commercial licence is more than just a piece of paper. Not only will you be more familiar with your future working environment, but your network for future jobs will also be much more developed.

paco
16th May 2018, 13:21
Yeah, if you don't need EASA, don't do it....

Sir Korsky
16th May 2018, 13:42
Join the Navy

JackJones
16th May 2018, 13:43
Yeah, if you don't need EASA, don't do it....