PDA

View Full Version : it for identification

elcol
17th Nov 2017, 07:19
Can someone please tell me what the pilot response required is to the ATC message "Transmit for identification-report heading" (understand the last bit!!)
Thanks

chevvron
17th Nov 2017, 08:52
What station have you heard that from? It's non standard RTF.

spekesoftly
17th Nov 2017, 09:07
Is it possible that this was heard on 121.5 - D&D trying to assist using autotriangulation?

chevvron
17th Nov 2017, 10:06
Is it possible that this was heard on 121.5 - D&D trying to assist using autotriangulation?

Good point, it does sound like it.

elcol
17th Nov 2017, 14:46
It's in PANS ATM DOC 4444.
Para 12.4.1 Identification of aircraft.
I'm a Comms instructor at BGS and a couple of students had the question in their ATPL IFR exam. I found the TX in 4444 but cannot find the expected pilot action and response.
Of the 4 options given these two "appear" to be relevant:
Report heading.
Press IDENT on the transponder and report heading.

Il Duce
17th Nov 2017, 16:56
Sounds like it should be "squawk ident and report heading".

Doody2007
17th Nov 2017, 17:12
If memory serves, in the military it was two turns of 30 degrees or more to ident using primary radar.

However, the df was displayed on the radar screen so, if you had a df trace go through a primary blip, you could get away with one turn rather than the two. Perhaps that it why you've had transmit for ident, report your heading? Just a guess.

Civvy Street is a little different. A single turn of 30 degrees is sufficient without the use of df.

Talkdownman
17th Nov 2017, 18:47
"Transmit for D/F"
"Mary had a little lamb..."

Inverted81
17th Nov 2017, 18:52