PDA

View Full Version : building up hours?

chrisdick
15th Jul 2002, 15:41
I am a twenty year old student at university in Edinburgh and have 52 hours on my ppl. I really want to build them up as cheaply and quickly as possible. I have been told America is the best place to do this. Can anyone tell me how I should go about doing this? is it worth while?
Thanx very much,
Chris Dick

AerBabe
15th Jul 2002, 17:45
Flying in Canada is relatively cheap too, and it's a much nicer country ;)

Evo7
15th Jul 2002, 17:47
I think that South Africa is the really cheap place at the moment - but I've got to agree with AerBabe about Canada... :)

A and C
16th Jul 2002, 11:20
I,m in the postion to help hoursbuilders it,s just a pity that you are the wrong end of the UK to be able to take advantage.

[email protected]

ETOPS773
16th Jul 2002, 11:32
Do you need a special visa / permit to hour build in the USA / Canada???

AerBabe
16th Jul 2002, 15:49
Not if you're only going for a 'holiday' ;)

The schools should be able to help you out with enquiries. Check out this (http://www.nmtair.com/) place. If you go, take me in your suitcase! :cool:

ETOPS773
16th Jul 2002, 15:56
I see..but my GPS,headset and flying stuff kinda would expose me ..as an anorack??
And why would you want to go in my suitcase?? would be more comfortable sitting on my lap??? :p
And haven`t virgin got those double beds....:cool:

Wireless
18th Jul 2002, 18:16
Chris

When I had 50 hours on my PPL, I joined a flying group that flew a Luton Minor. This aircraft is a single seat tailwheel type with a 1600cc VW engine. The performance was crap and I had the p£ss taken out of me a lot but I was the last one laughing as it cost £10/hour (Wet) to fly. For every hour one of those Archer Pilots flew, I was flying 10. I paid £300 for a share and £8 a month towards the hanger. There were 10 in the group.