PDA

View Full Version : How many days a year do you fly?

newpilot1980
4th May 2017, 14:23
Hi all. This is my first post on here so bare with me whilstI struggle to find my feet. I’ve just obtained my PPL and trying to build up myhours. Quick question for you all, how many days a year do you fly/flew? I’mtrying to work out costings and trying to work what I’m paying per day I fly. Alot of people talk about how many hours they flew over the last 12 months but Ican’t seem to find out on average how many individual days people fly/flew.Would appreciate any feedback. Thanks.

Intruder
4th May 2017, 18:28
When I was a new pilot, I tried to fly at least once a week - about 50 days/year.

9 lives
4th May 2017, 20:13
Welcome Newpilot, Yes, an hour a week is excellent, you'll maintain skills, and build more skill, without stepping backward. weather will interrupt this sometimes, but the average is good. Expect that at least 1/4 of this amount of flying should be practicing emergencies, and circuits to build and reinforce those skills.

Ebbie 2003
5th May 2017, 13:25
Me too, about 50 days of the year.

Usually at the weekend.

Latterly I started to switch to flying a couple of times a week for half and hour or so doing touch and goes - some days I did fifteen minutes and fitted in three T&G's.

Some days I would do a couple of hours, if going to another island fr example.

Last month I did about 20 hours including a 13 hour trip but that was unusual.

There are very few days when one cannot fly here - maybe due to visibility a couple of dozen, very high winds gusts over a but 30kts with an unfortunate direction twenty or so. Then of course they have to be the days you were planning to fly anyway.

I understand in the UK this effect, plus sodden grass strips, winter periods etc do restrict people.

dublinpilot
5th May 2017, 13:31
After getting my PPL, I also tried to fly 1 hour per week. Thought that's harder in winter. It's good for keeping your skills current.