PDA

View Full Version : IMC minimium

Fuji Abound
10th Jul 2002, 21:17
"The limits for an aproach for an IMC holder are what ever it states on the approach plate +px error corection (if any)."

I noticed this comment in a previous post. The minimium for IMC holders use to be more cautious than for IR holders. What has changed and is it a good thing.

Send Clowns
10th Jul 2002, 21:34
The way I was told during my CPL (allows privileges of an IMC - I never had a UK PPL let alone IMC) the legal minima were the same as for an IRed pilot - i.e. what you quote. The recommended minima were somewhat higher, and it might be considered foolish to ignore CAA SRG recommendations.

However, I have been corrected here on this before, so would like a definitive answer with reference if anyone has it. I have given up trying to find information in CAA online documentation. This will allow me to speak with authority if asked once I am a flying instructor.

SimJock
10th Jul 2002, 21:47
In the IMC confuser and what I plan to use in the forthcoming exam are:

Precision Approach - Plate MDH + 200 + 50 PEC or 500ft aal whichever is greater

Non Precision - Plate MDH + 200 or 600ft aal whichever is greater

Have these changed then ?

Keef
10th Jul 2002, 21:56
SimJock

Those are the same numbers I learned for my IMC, long ago.

BUT ... the "recent" wisdom is that they are only "recommended" increases to the minima on the plates. The inference is that you can, in theory, legally continue down to the IR minima.

I suspect that may "technically" be right, but I'm not sure I'd advise it. You need to be very current to handle an approach to IR minima in real IMC.

Having done some ILS and NDB approaches today (under the hood) to keep my FAA IR current, I can tell you it ain't easy even if you are pretty current.

distaff_beancounter
10th Jul 2002, 21:57