PDA

View Full Version : LSA flying in Germany

rcsa
13th Mar 2017, 15:28
I may be relocating from Africa to Germany, near Cologne/Koln in the coming months - or at least spending a lot time there. I've been trying to find out about the GA scene there, and specifically LSA flying, but there seems to be a black hole on the internet on this topic.

I have a lapsed Zimbabwe PPL with a couple of hundred hours, though I have flown with mates quite often since I last did a flight test. Last month I took a 172 out with an instructor and he reckoned it would take no more than 10 hours to get back to scratch.

Do any Prunes fly LSA in Germany? What's the deal there? Flying clubs? LSA ownership or syndicate ownership?

All advice welcome.

Best regards, Rob

Genghis the Engineer
13th Mar 2017, 17:01
The LSA category does exist in Europe, but is not much used.

In Germany look up "Ultralights". The majority of aircraft classed as Ultralights in Germany are what you'd recognise as LSA, and there's a wide variety of excellent aircraft and a well managed national structure for flying them.

G

Jan Olieslagers
13th Mar 2017, 17:07
As far as I know, LSA is not a big success in Germany - no more than in the rest of Europe. You could perhaps try asking at ulforum.de, most messages are in German there but you will get some kind of reply.

As far as I know, syndicates are mostly a UK phenomenon, on the Continent I see only few. And as LSA's are rather rare here, few clubs operate one. Here in BE some clubs own typical LSA craft, but have them registered as "aircraft" i.e. to be flown with a PPL.

On the other hand, 3-axis ultralights are getting more and more sophisticated, especially in Germany. Depending on the kind of flying you intend to do, an ultralight might be your choice: there are lots of clubs, around Köln, and even co-ownership might be found.

Good luck!

EDMJ
13th Mar 2017, 18:01