PDA

View Full Version : Long Haul at EDI

Joe Curry
30th Jun 2002, 06:50
What's going on at EDI?

Yesterday's EAL flight to SFB was a shambles.!

The aircraft was parked overnight on 30s threshold and
was only brought on stand about an hour before it's
scheduled 1230 departure.

Only one hour to load fuel, supplies, pax etc; was cutting it
fine surely.?

The aircraft eventually departed around 1400 hrs, amid reports
that it had damaged part of the taxiway.

Anyone throw some light on the actual events.?

I personally suspect BAA has little enthusiasm for long-haul at
EDI.:mad:

callyoushortly
30th Jun 2002, 12:43
Joe

I have no knowledge of what actually happened because I wasn't at work and I haven't spoken to anyone that was there at the time of departure, but.....

1. Maybe it only departed at 1400 because of a delay in the Oceanic clearance..... these things take a while to sort out and if the aircraft's not ready for departure, then the earliest airborne and clearance expiry times can be well in arrears of when the aircraft actually wishes to go.

2. The people at Edi work to the best of their ability at all times, and if that meant the aircraft departed 90 minutes late then I'm sure it wasn't for want of trying to get it away earlier.

3. There are only a couple of places that a 747 can park at Edi, and if those places are blocked by aircraft with other slot delays, which have been prevalent over the past few weeks, then where do you propose we park the aircraft for loading?? Or should we bus all passengers to the 30 threshold!? That'd be fun!!!