PDA

View Full Version : Airbus Procedures and callouts

Speedwinner
10th Jun 2016, 05:05
Hello!

I have a question concerning the fma callouts on the 320. According to fctm:

1. When we engage the autopilot is it right to say : ap1 on ? That's what is written in bold letters in the manual

2. If we get a clearance : when ready descend... And we dial the altitude in. Do we call out : FL100 blue?

Thanks so much!

Denti
10th Jun 2016, 08:36
Both is what i do, so far no trainer has complained...

But, coming from the boeing the second case is really a bad gotcha...

macdo
10th Jun 2016, 09:13
As I understand it you call all FMA modes changes.
With Colour when armed. Blue or Magenta
Without colour when active. Green or white.
As written in our FCOM PRO_NOR_SOP_FMA

Check Airman
10th Jun 2016, 10:00
What does your company manual say about the callouts? I'd do it the way they want it done.

I'm fairly new to the type, but wish Airbus would drop the FMA callouts. I don't see how it accomplishes much.

Denti
10th Jun 2016, 10:34
I'm fairly new to the type, but wish Airbus would drop the FMA callouts. I don't see how it accomplishes much.

We flew without any FMA callouts nor checklists between after start and parking checklist for years. Now we switched to the OEM SOPs and of course we follow them, but do know how useless they are for our operation. The switch to OEM was dictated by cost, not by safety merit.

BusBoy
10th Jun 2016, 10:50
No FMA callouts?
FCU is fiction, FMA is the Truth

Big fan of calling everything (as per our SOPs)

Check Airman
10th Jun 2016, 10:54
No FMA callouts?
FCU is fiction, FMA is the Truth

Big fan of calling everything (as per our SOPs)

Most companies on this side of the pond do not call out the FMA. I don't gain anything from calling out the FMA that simply reading it doesn't give me.

FlyingStone
10th Jun 2016, 11:51

FMA is one of the most important things when flying Airbus FBW aircraft, that's why is also included in the "golden rules".