PDA

View Full Version : Mastering the skill of landing

Rzrukmanis
2nd Jun 2016, 19:15
I am a pretty newbie student pilot. At this moment I have 20 hours flown.. They are all on Cessna 172 , I have flown a few solo flights already , but I haven't got stable landing skills, I bounce or flare too late often , because I am afraid to flare too high, and then I approach ground too fast.. And the question is - How can I know that it is the right moment to flare? And how important is to round out before flare? And one more thing - for a Cessna 172 Vref is around 65 kts ... At which point of the landing I can forget about the airspeed? Is it at the moment when I start slowing down descent? What else can you suggest me for mastering the landing?

blueandwhite
2nd Jun 2016, 21:54
We have all been in the same position. Don't worry. Talk to your instructor.

300hrWannaB
2nd Jun 2016, 22:03
I was going to go for a long winded answer, but the truth is that B&W is right.

All I shall add is that the more often you fly, the more familiar it will become. Sometimes circuit flying can be a grind, sometimes you feel that the plane is flying you, sometimes the circuit pattern seems awful small and you are back round on another "unstable" approach. These are the times when you may feel like asking to depart the circuit, fly straight and level for a bit, change airspeeds a few times, then make an approach again.
Even experienced pilots need to practice to get familiar with the finer skills. And no two days are ever the same. That's how it is.
We've all been there, and sometimes return!
Oh
Sorry, I went for the long answer.

RatherBeFlying
2nd Jun 2016, 22:27
Suggest you search this forum on "landing".

There's lots of folks before you with the same difficulties and volumes of sage advice.

India Four Two
3rd Jun 2016, 01:14
Rz,

Follow RBF's advice.