PDA

View Full Version : UK transition altitude

jason_beall
27th Jun 2002, 11:02
Hi all,

I'm a US pilot who has just moved to the UK and I am trying to better understand REAl use of the transition altitude. In the US, transition altitude is way up at FL180, so most PPL's in the US never have to deal with it. Here in the UK, FL30 is the transition altitude. How many pilots actually set their altimeters to 1013 mb and use it say below 10,000 feet MSL? Or do most people just use regional when flying around?
Also, say I am flying south from Perth in Scotland and I am at FL35 and I am penetrating Newcastle's zone...do I stay on 1013 or set the Newcastle QNH in while transitioning?

Thanks for the clarification,

-Jason

englishal
27th Jun 2002, 11:20
Just to make life more confusing.....it vaires. Normally its at aorund 3000', but certain areas have different transition altitudes, Bournemouth for example is 4000'. There are numerous other transition altitudes as well.

EA;)

FlyingForFun
27th Jun 2002, 11:22
Jason,

The transition level is actually FL30 in some parts of the UK, and FL60 in others (e.g. around London), just to really confuse you!

But, if you're flying VFR, you don't need to set 1013, you can just use QNH. I've only ever set it once, and that was flying cross-channel at FL55.

As for penetrating Newcastle's zone, I would imagine (but I don't know for sure) that they'd clear you either at a given altitude (in which case they'd give you a QNH to use) or at a given flight level (in which case you'd set 1013).

I'm sure you'll enjoy flying in the UK. We're not quite as aviation-friendly as the US, but there's some beautiful scenery around, which is quite different to the (also beautiful) scenery you'd find in most parts of the US.

FFF
--------------

FlyingForFun
27th Jun 2002, 11:24
Englishal - is that right? I thought the transition level was always either FL30 or FL60? Ready to be corrected if I'm wrong though!

FFF
-------------

knobbygb