PDA

View Full Version : Aeronausiphobia

tatave
21st Mar 2016, 13:10
Hello all,

I am a trainee pilot very close to completing my first GA licence. Ever since the very beginning of training, I have been dealing with aeronausiphobia - the fear of becoming airsick (leading to feelings of airsickness). Although I've only actually become airsick twice in my life, I seem to always feel nauseous as soon as a few minutes into the flight. It has become an issue for me, and I am seeking to get rid of it completely.

Enjoyment on my flights would go up 200%- I'd love to be able to fly without subconsciously worrying about becoming airsick.

Has anyone ever dealt with the same problem, and if so, how did you fix it?

Thank you very much in advance.

Best regards! :)

Armchairflyer
21st Mar 2016, 16:14
Tried ginger capsules yet? Found them quite "stomach-hardening" (and thus reassuring) at the beginning of my training.

Pace
21st Mar 2016, 16:41
You have a fear of being sick while flying that you feel sick ?
Ok challenge that perception by telling yourself that it's ok to be sick, not the end of the world and nothing bad will happen
Why not even try to make yourself sick
I had a friend 25 years ago and we flew a 172 to a grass field near Truro! He flew down and me back
He was a bit off colour when we went so took a sick back and sadly had to use it but it didn't bother him or his flying at all! He just apologised and got on with the job
So really it's your perception just get used to it ! It sounds like you have a fear of the process of being sick confront it which isn't to recoil but the opposite accept it as normal as breathing and take a sick bag as aircraft are hard to clean if you don't :ok:

Pace

Fly4Business
21st Mar 2016, 17:03