PDA

View Full Version : GA flying in Morroco, what's the score?

piperboy84
19th Mar 2016, 22:41
Have flown down here to Malaga from Scotland, I fancy going over to Morroco and bimbling around for 2 or 3 days, anyone with any experience flying a spamcan in Morroco want to share the pros and cons ?

ETOPS
20th Mar 2016, 07:52
Try not to "score" :eek:

Huge traffic in drugs from Morocco to Spain so a European (with a funny accent) and a "foreign" registered light aircraft will attract attention returning to Spain..

PS No idea what the Spanish for "bimbling" is :confused:

PPS Check the spelling of Morocco - cultural awareness and all that :ok:

Jan Olieslagers
20th Mar 2016, 08:24
I have no experience, but
1) you may consult Trips & Airports - Flights to/through Morocco and eventually over to the Canary Islands? (http://www.euroga.org/forums/trips-airports/3186-flights-to-through-morocco-and-eventually-over-to-the-canary-islands) ; if you hadn't already ...
2) comments by ETOPS sound like making a lot of sense.

patowalker
20th Mar 2016, 20:17
Except that knowing how to spell Morocco is not much use in Spain or Morocco itself. :-)

Balearic Helicopters
20th Mar 2016, 20:41
Done some flying from Spain to Morocco, planning to go again in April.

A couple of notes:

You'll need a permit, takes around 2 weeks to arrange. ALL details required. Aircraft, pax, pilot etc.

Also entire route from entry to exit. Times, dates, flight times. For the visa.

To go into and out of Morocco you'll need to go via customs airports, and pay the expensive Spanish fees! Nearby airports are Jerez, Malaga, Granada, Almeria.

VFR charts and maps and AIP for Morocco all online and free to download including handy VFR guide. Lots of airports have avgas.

The VFR charts have VFR routes that must to be followed and listed on the Flightplans - each flight will require a full flight plan.

Moroccan officials will meet you at every airport, but are quite friendly.