PDA

View Full Version : What to look for in a headset

Ian_Wannabe
19th Jun 2002, 21:50
Hey there,
Being a newbie I was just wondering what to look for in a headset and what to keep clear of.
I'll be buying in the USA so prices will be cheaper than the UK (I imagine) so the price range I'm going for is kinda in the middle.. not too cheap but not too expensive.

Thanks,

Ian

BRL
19th Jun 2002, 21:59
Ian. Try doing a search for 'Headset'. I just done it and got 6 good threads about them.

BEagle
19th Jun 2002, 22:33
Just look for the words 'David Clark 13.4' on the box!

Not sure that they're that much cheaper in the US. Especially when you consider the duty and VAT you''ll have to pay when bringing your headset back to the UK.....

Jhieminga
20th Jun 2002, 03:23
You can find the 13.4 in the USA from $265 ex tax, but you'll have to look for them. Shops are not allowed to advertise lower than the Minimum Advertisement Price set by DC which is around $290, but look for discounts or 'hot deals' on the websites. One of the cheapest shops I've been able to find around FL is www.tropicaero.com, if you fill in an email adress they'll send you a message with the discount price of the article.

The best thing to do is to go to a shop with lots of headsets and try them on. Comfort is the first thing to look for. If you're willing to go for something else than David Clark, a suggestion from me is to have a look at the Softcomm C-90 (www.softcommheadsets.com). It's a David Clark style headset, but it sells around $300 WITH active noise reduction (something you'll have to pay $600 for if you want a DC!).

Evo7
20th Jun 2002, 06:39
BEagle is right - DC10-13.4s are excellent. Haven't used a headset that I'd swap mine for, although DC10-40s are good too :)

Something worth thinking about is to look around for a second hand set - either here or in the USA. DCs are almost bombproof, but even if something does go wrong spare parts are easy to come by. Will save you a bit of money....