PDA

View Full Version : Marchetti SF260a

vandereydt
12th Oct 2015, 21:37
Hi all
The SF 260 is a wonderfull aircraft
Does anybody have experience knowledge on this aircraft
The things to look out for, the absolute nogo's, ....
Maintenance issues?

Thanks
Ronny

Small Rodent Driver
13th Oct 2015, 03:16
Nothing I can impart about the SF260 other than..... Want One!!!!!!

dirkdj
13th Oct 2015, 04:59
One of the mechanics who works on my aircraft was in charge of maintenance of the fleet of SF260s in the Belgian Air Force before his retirement. There is one sitting in a hangar somewhere on our field that seems to take an eternity to get fixed. If you are thinking about this one, better do some research.

Dave Clarke Fife
13th Oct 2015, 07:31
Ronny, I have no direct operational experience nor maintenance experience of the 260 but wish i did have. My old company (no prizes for guessing who) used to have one painted in the old company colour scheme. Despite my deepest desire and wishes to get my hands on this little beauty, much to my chagrin, they insisted i fly their airbus instead.

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb219/A330Skygod/image.jpeg

Photo copyright belongs to Glyn Charles Jones

Curlytips
13th Oct 2015, 07:45
:ok: Same answer. No technical knowledge, but flew the 260d with Fighter Pilots USA, and it was stunning. Instructors were all ex-F15 pilots and rated it highly. They also did multiple "missions" daily so commercially they had to be reliable. Can imagine that spares availability could be the problem.

vandereydt
13th Oct 2015, 08:16
thanks all

What I m looking for is the hidden issues with the Marhetti
Availability of parts is one (cost another :bored: )
Operational issues
Maintenance issues, where do I find qualified engineers to work on it
Can the panel be upgraded to modern standards?

Thanks all

Ronny

Above The Clouds
13th Oct 2015, 08:28
Curlytips
Same answer. No technical knowledge, but flew the 260d with Fighter Pilots USA