PDA

View Full Version : What do I need to teach the IRI course

neilr
12th Oct 2015, 18:54
Hello all
I have quick question ...
I am an EASA instructor - I can teach for the IR rating and more recently can now teach the FIC course

What I am not sure about and could not a find a reference to is ...

Can I also teach for the IRI course or are there some minimum experience levels I need to achieve before being able to teach this

Thanks to anybody who can help or point me in the right direction

Thanks Neil

Whopity
12th Oct 2015, 19:56
So long as you are an FIC instructor and qualified to teach for the IR you can do it FCL.930.IRI IRI — Training course
(b) Flight instruction shall be given by an FI qualified in accordance with FCL.905.FI(i):

FCL.905.FI
(i) an FI, IRI, CRI, STI or MI certificate provided that the FI has:

(1) completed at least:
(iii) in all other cases, 500 hours of flight instruction in the appropriate aircraft category;

(2) passed an assessment of competence in accordance with FCL.935 in the appropriate aircraft category to demonstrate to a Flight Instructor Examiner (FIE) the ability to instruct for the FI certificate;

neilr
12th Oct 2015, 19:59
Many thanks for that - I saw this reference but figured I was missing something - looked to simple !!

nick14
12th Oct 2015, 20:55
I believe you will also need to hold the IRI and a single pilot IR, so don't let them lapse.

Whopity
12th Oct 2015, 21:43
I am an EASA instructor - I can teach for the IR rating Then he is qualified!

nick14
13th Oct 2015, 16:09
Just pointing it out as the rules changed with EASA.

Whopity
15th Oct 2015, 06:48
Presumably you are referring to the 4:1 ratio as nothing elsse has changed.
Of course you will also need an approved course in the FIC Training Manual to run IRI courses.

nick14
15th Oct 2015, 18:25