PDA

View Full Version : F214 Interpolation

vegancruiser
17th Jun 2014, 14:05
For the purposes of flight planning during PPL training (Qualifying cross country tomorrow, hopefully!) can someone please explain to me how to interpolate correctly for wind velocity at altitudes BETWEEN the levels given in the wind 'boxes' on the F214 (e.g. for 3000 ft), and then between adjacent boxes, should this be necessary. I've never fully understood the procedure involved and I'd be grateful for some guidance. Or, am I being too pedantic (bearing in mind again that I'm still a student)?

Lone_Ranger
17th Jun 2014, 14:43
Split the difference....they are'nt very accurate anyway

SpannerInTheWerks
17th Jun 2014, 14:50
Interpolate vertically within the relevant boxes and then horizontally between these adjacent boxes.

Same for temperature.

Just because you are a student on a qualifying cross-country doesn't absolve you from responsibility nor should you consider yourself any less affected by the weather!!!

Shame you haven't been taught this before today.

So, for example:

50N 05W

05 050 25 +07
02 040 15 +13

50N 0230W

05 040 25 +09
02 040 20 +13

For 3000ft (vertically) (say, in round figures):

50N 05W

03 043 18 +11

50N 0230W

03 040 22 +12

So if you're between the two points (horizontally):

03 040 20 +11

Nearest 5 degrees of wind direction is fine;
Nearest 5 knots of wind speed is fine;
temperature is above freezing (main point);

So, in this example: 03 040 20 and no known icing would be acceptable.

In more severe weather the gradients will be greater but the above will hold true in most cases.

vegancruiser
17th Jun 2014, 16:07
"Just because you are a student on a qualifying cross-country doesn't absolve you from responsibility nor should you consider yourself any less affected by the weather!!!"