PDA

View Full Version : Work Shop suggestions please

GW PA28 121
4th Jun 2014, 08:42
Hi All

I am new to this so apologies if I have put this in the wrong forum.

Just after some recommendations for UK Work Shops. I have a time-ex O-320-D3G so in need of an overhaul.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

A and C
4th Jun 2014, 09:45
Nicolson McClarren or Eisenburgh. ( spelling ?)

Both are reputable company's who will back their products and do a very good job, personally I have used products from both but usually NM ........... If I was on the other side of London it might well be the other way around.

stevelup
4th Jun 2014, 12:36
NM did a super job for us. On time, on budget and the finished engine hasn't used a drop of oil, nor shed any metal.

Bliss1
6th Jun 2014, 09:57
Hi, I have heard about both those companies but I was recommended Norvic, really good quality and fantastic service. Well worth trying

stevef
6th Jun 2014, 16:06
From personal experience of their Lycoming IO540s and component overhauls, I'd recommend Ronaldsons of Oxford. We never had cause for complaint.
Nothing's too much trouble for the cheerful Rachel on the front line.

JW411
6th Jun 2014, 16:28
I have a very high regard for Eisenburg at Southend very straightforward and he does a great job.

A and C
6th Jun 2014, 17:05
I would think very hard before using Ronaldson, I asked for Lycoming cylinders to be fitted to my engine, when the ECI cylinder AD appeared we checked the cylinders to find he had fitted ECI cylinders not the Lycoming ones as asked unfortunately he had bust the company that did the work on my engine and set up another in the same workshop.

This has cost me the 20% extension on the engine because the ECI cylinders have a 2000 hour hard life.

At least I did not get stung by him as much as a local flying club who had a number of engines rebuilt by him with the same cylinder issues.