PDA

View Full Version : Air brakes

Boslandew
19th May 2014, 17:53
I'm a retired helicopter pilot. Can anyone tell me, during a normal flight in a jet aircraft when everything has gone according to plan and ATC hasn't required anything extra, would use of the airbrakes be a normal part of the descent or would the aircraft decelerate sufficiently just by reducing thrust and eventually with flaps?

extreme P
19th May 2014, 18:06
Even with ATC intervention speed brakes are not often required.

Lord Spandex Masher
19th May 2014, 18:28
Yet, even without ATC intervention, speed brakes are often required.

Denti
19th May 2014, 19:33
Depends on descent planning, proper descent planning with a recent wind profile and speed brakes are not used usually. With the extremely low cost indices we use they're usually not needed until ATC keeps us more than 5000ft high.

Intruder
19th May 2014, 19:58
Ideally, the FMS will set the Top of Descent such that all restrictions can be met with idle thrust and no air brakes. Unforecast tailwind or need for engine or wing anti-ice on the descent may eventually require use of air brakes.

Some pilots mitigate the use of air brakes by extending flaps earlier. That often works well when a little extra drag for an extended time will meet the restrictions.

Piltdown Man
20th May 2014, 08:45
I'm normally in total agreement with LSM, but this is an exception. I consider that I have "failed" if I have total flexibility in planning my descent and then have to use the brakes. I also try not to use the flaps as brakes and instead let the aircraft bleed off speed in level flight or a gentle descent until I get to the manufacturer's recommended flap deployment speed of Green Dot (or GD+10 in ice).

To put in some numbers, in level flight at low altitudes with a reasonable landing weight the aircraft I fly will decelerate at approx. one knot per second.

Lord Spandex Masher
20th May 2014, 13:08