PDA

View Full Version : Complex / mind cranking AIRBUS simulator scenarios

alexious85
2nd May 2014, 08:09
Hello
Every time I go to the simulator , when I think I studied the systems enough or analyzed contingencies in my brain enough , I am surprised how the simulator instructor can eliminate all that and give you something small or big or combination of situations and change your mind about everything and your self. I am sure you all experience this at some point or another and that is the reason I created this post , so to exchange simulator experience .
Take this scenario for instance ( basically impossible in real life ) :
You are accelerating down the runway and few knots before v1 the screens black out and you understand you lost your electrics and you are in all likelihood in emerg. Elec. configuration . do you abort or continue take off ? unless you had this before in the sim you would say abort. But if you are in emer. Elec config ( before the RAT deploys ) at this stage you lose your brake and reversers so unless your are in a really long rwy with low weight you will overrun the runway .
I gave an example of something that can be described in few words , but the airbus can give rise to an incredible amount if complex scenarios . Do you have any scenario to share big and small ? As things move along with posts ill dig up some tricky scenarios I have had the past 2 years and share them

Centaurus
2nd May 2014, 14:36
Can't help you on an A320 scenario but here is one 737 (Classic) scenario. Part of the 737 type rating training includes loss of both engine driven generators. Usually the instructor fails one generator in flight then shortly after the second generator goes off line as well. It is also assumed (for training purpose) the APU is inoperative thus its generator is unavailable.