PDA

View Full Version : Where are all the part-time instructor jobs?

dogsbreath
30th Apr 2014, 11:14
I have been an instructor off and on for 25 years, firstly as a means to an end, in the days of the "self Improver" and latterly as an enjoyable hobby, along side my "day Job" as a 737 Captain, but I have simply been unable to get ANY instructing work at all for 2 Summers. I could find some if I was prepared to travel to my old stomping grounds of Leeds and Sherburn, but where I now live, not a million miles from Blackpool, nothing. Now I know times are hard, but I've lived through recessions before but nothing this bad for the GA fraternity. Is it that schools simply don't like airline pilots? an attitude that I have come across from time to time, or is it just something even my best friends won't tell me about?

nick14
30th Apr 2014, 11:41
Same problem in the midlands at present. No one will talk to me about it, I have had only one positive response but that was from a big school nearly an hour away from me.

RTN11
30th Apr 2014, 13:05
There are too many full time instructors and not enough work.

Mickey Kaye
30th Apr 2014, 14:23
Your obviously not talking to the right people of looking in the right places.

In the last week I know of one instructor who has stepped up from a part time position to full time.

I know another instructor (who only qualified 4 weeks ago) land a part time Saturday and Sunday job.

I also know of one school that had to cancel/re-jig lessons due to instructor shortages.

FlyingOfficerKite
30th Apr 2014, 15:14
firstly as a means to an end, in the days of the "self Improver"

Two problems I think:

1. Recession - fewer people with spare cash; and
2. Fewer (if any) 'self-improvers' working through the flying schools, as many airlines are now following the cadet route with the flight academies.

GA is contracting generally, although the 'sport flying' contingent may be witnessing growth.