PDA

View Full Version : Synthetic Vision using CRT possible?

Liam1407
22nd Feb 2014, 16:47
I'm a student and new on here,

Quick question with regards to Synthetic Vision Displays, is it possible for these to run off CRT or would the resolution along with display quality be too poor to interpret the visual information and hence why LCD would be much better?

Any points on this matter would be greatly helpful,

Cheers!

falconer1
22nd Feb 2014, 17:52
you answered the question yourself…

the resolution of CRTs ist not good enough…

LCDs are necessary…

's not rocket science...

Intruder
22nd Feb 2014, 19:26
What resolution is required for synthetic vision? AFAIK, mainstream CRTs are capable of AT LEAST UXGA (1600x1200). I have seen reports of people using a CRT for 2048x1536 @60Hz.

I believe the REAL answer is that CRTs are much heavier and require significantly more power (and generate more heat) than LCD displays. There is little chance that someone would design a "new" avionics system based on CRTs, if LCD is an option.

ZFT
22nd Feb 2014, 22:56
In addition CRTs age, have a far higher MTBF and are subject to catastrophic failures resulting in expensive burns to the CRT. ( A typical Honeywell DU repair with CRT replacement can we in the region of US$20K!!!)

AirRabbit
24th Feb 2014, 17:43
Quick question with regards to Synthetic Vision Displays, is it possible for these to run off CRT or would the resolution along with display quality be too poor to interpret the visual information and hence why LCD would be much better?

Any points on this matter would be greatly helpful