PDA

View Full Version : Do instructor take-off/landings count towards 90 day currency?

Trim Stab
24th Nov 2013, 12:08
If flying as an instructor - do take-offs and landings count towards the 3 in 90 currency regulation?

The regulation states that only take-offs and landings as "pilot-flying" count - but if the student has no licence is the instructor the de-facto "pilot-flying"?

Genghis the Engineer
24th Nov 2013, 12:12
It's always been my understanding that it's the person handling the controls who counts for 90 day rule, not who is Captain.

mad_jock
24th Nov 2013, 13:01
yep its sole manipulator of the controls or used to be words to that effect.

Whopity
24th Nov 2013, 14:04
but if the student has no licence is the instructor the de-facto "pilot-flying"? The insdtructor is the PIC but if the student does the landing and take off, the instructor is not the sole manipulator of the flying controls which is the bit that counts.

As an instructor I would expect you complete a number of demonstrations so it is highly unlikely that you would not have met the 90 day requirement!

Heston
24th Nov 2013, 14:17
What they all said.

I find I can often go all day instructing without handling the controls. I know instructors who always do a circuit on their own at the start of the day - seems a pretty good idea to me. Not that there is any danger of going past 90 days.

Check Airman
24th Nov 2013, 16:27
90 days?

With some students, I couldn't go 90 minutes without having to salvage a landing.

I never minded the days where I never flew. Meant the students were doing well:)

mad_jock
24th Nov 2013, 16:42
90mins your bloody lucky.

9 mins with some, although rescuing one isn't really counted as sole manipulator of the controls for approach and landing.

I did have a period with lots of full time students all starting at the same time I managed over a month without landing an aircraft.

And Cpl and IR instructors must be able to get passed 90 days easy.