PDA

View Full Version : Pilots from corporate aviation not welcome at commercial operators!

Cecco
28th Oct 2013, 08:13
I hear more and more, also from first-hand experience, that pilots with a corporate background are not welcome at commercial operators. I guess it's just another arbitrary barrier to diminish the incoming flow of applications
or maybe they view corporate aviation like airliners view business aviation in general: cowboy operators wihout SOPs etc. In my view, in both commercial and corporate operators, there are good and bad companies. To mark one sector as "good" and the other as "bad" is just too simple!

Comments, particularly from commercial operators, are welcome!

Cheers
Cecco

His dudeness
28th Oct 2013, 09:01
maybe they view corporate aviation like airliners view business aviation in general: cowboy operators wihout SOPs etc.

I was based at an airport with several comm operators and 2 corporate flight departments.

As an airtaxi pilot I loved flying for these guys, cause they (both) had made it very clear that regs are regs. Which wasnīt all that clear with my superiors, especially when it came down to duty times, no 2 different types in one day and the W in W&B.

And I know for sure that these operations were more professional than the second outfit I flew for at that airport. Their SOPs were "at the printers" (no ****, thats what the director of operations told us time and again) for the 1,5 years I flew for them.

I think most of the commercial guys think and know that an experienced corporate guy tends to be less "flexible" in these respects...

But then, I might be totally wrong...

deltahotel
28th Oct 2013, 09:59
Not aware of any perceived bias against corporate pilots -we've had a few over the years. Mind you, as an airline pilot try to get even an interview with a corporate company .........

Miles Magister
28th Oct 2013, 20:22
Guys,