PDA

View Full Version : 1980s RAF fast jet numbers

M Pryce
19th Sep 2013, 11:47
I am a lecturer at Shrivenham undertaking research into long term reliability in fast jets and associated fleet management.

I have received data from industry and MoD on 1980s aircraft (Buccaneer, Harrier, Phantom, Jaguar) with almost all the numbers I need (MTBF, arisings etc.), but one thing missing is the number of aircraft in units.

Could anyone who may have flown/supported these platforms let me know how many aircraft were in front line units in the mid 1980s, as well as the strength of the OCUs?

My current 'guesstimates' from a variety of sources give:

Harrier GR.3 - 12 in No.1 Squadron, 18 in each German squadron, OCU - no idea (but large-ish - 25 or so, mix of GR and T).

Phantom - 15 per squadron, OCU unclear.

Buccaneer - total of 32 in 2 squadrons plus OCU, also Hunter T.8Bs

Jaguar - 3 UK squadrons 12 each, OCU not clear.

All of these may be wrong. Any help correcting them would be much appreciated.

Pontius Navigator
19th Sep 2013, 14:50
RAF Germany 5 Sqns? 2, 14, 17, 20, 31?

M Pryce
19th Sep 2013, 15:02
Do you mean for the Jaguar? I could not find any unit establishment numbers for them, but assume that as they transitioned to Tornado that numbers fluctuated. Presumably the Coltishall wing was more constant, and the data I have separates RAFG from UK units.

newt
19th Sep 2013, 15:06
What about the Lightning?

Wetstart Dryrun
19th Sep 2013, 15:18
...and what about the TWU Hunters?

...that'll clank up your reliability stats.

wets

GeeRam
19th Sep 2013, 15:37
...and what about the TWU Hunters?

Wasn't the last Hunter TWU course in early 1980.....?

But as Newt says, Lightning served until mid-88, and what about Tornado, which entered service in '82 IIRC.

Perhaps this is just only for all a/c that were flying in service from 1980 to 1990 inclusive....?

Wetstart Dryrun
19th Sep 2013, 16:43
Certainly still going 1982.