PDA

View Full Version : 30% of US pilots in 'majors' to retire by 2016

Right Engine
18th Sep 2013, 11:25
From several reliable sources I have recently heard that American Airlines, Delta, Continental and USAir are in the midst of a very large bulge of retirements. A bulge that, combined with some drastic changes to the new entrant requirements to fly in the US commercially, is putting great stresses on Airlines ability to cover their network operations.

I am a UK based pilot, and have no intention of flying for (let alone being granted the visa for) a US airline but the ramifications of large swathes of American 'journeymen' returning from the far/middle east to their place of birth would have serious repercussions for the 'market' for pilots globally.

Would any of you be prepared to put a little more substance to these rumours? I've had 20 years in this game, and so far I've yet to see any significant pilot shortage, but it would be nice to know that a significant reduction of experience might just create an inertia towards improving the declining wages and T's and C's of our role?

EMB-145LR
18th Sep 2013, 12:36
It's a lot more than 30%, but over a longer time period than the next three years. Here's a full breakdown of the retirement numbers for the major carriers over here.

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f372/bgmann/Retirements/mandatoryretirements-1_zpseea7d65b.jpg

A340rider
18th Sep 2013, 13:33
I first hear this in 2004 that "shortly" the US/RAF pilots ex Vietnam will retire soon....2016 now is it?? I think its rubish..10s of thousand of pilots have come of the factory line since..supply is more than demand, always will be..

EMB-145LR
18th Sep 2013, 13:51
I first hear this in 2004 that "shortly" the US/RAF pilots ex Vietnam will retire soon....2016 now is it?? I think its rubish..10s of thousand of pilots have come of the factory line since..supply is more than demand, always will be..