PDA

View Full Version : Looking for flight school recommendations in the NE UK

M_broFlyer
23rd Aug 2013, 03:17
Hello! I am looking to get my PPL and then maybe CPL later on. I am currently working full time so this isn't an instant-career-change but more like getting-my-foot-in-the-door and see where it leads me.

I am living in Middlesbrough, and I know Durham Tees and Newcastle are nearby airports so I was wondering if anyone here was "local" to the area and can recommend any flight school from personal experience. I have no background in aviation so I don't know exactly what to look for.

Thanks for your time!

Poolietom
23rd Aug 2013, 09:38
Hi, i did my PPL(A) at St George Flight Training about 6 years ago. Seemed a good school to me, instructor was good!

However, they have just been bought by Durham Tees Flight Training, but i've heard that currently very little is going to change (a/c, instructors etc)

G-F0RC3
23rd Aug 2013, 11:59
Since when was Durham Tees Valley NE UK? := NE England, perhaps, but it's pretty central in latitude as far as the UK on the whole is concerned.

I've flown into Durham a few times. It seems a nice little airport, but I couldn't say what the local club is like as I didn't meet any of them. :p

JDA2012
23rd Aug 2013, 13:28
Ha, knew you would get that response from one of the Scots - quite correct of course, and to be fair I've been to the definitive NE UK (Unst, Shetland) and you soon learn how far it is from Manchester in the "north" :p

On a more relevant point, I learnt at ANT in Blackpool. They are certainly worth checking out, got me through my PPL in just four weeks (three if not counting bad weather days) and are very friendly and competitively-priced - see also http://www.pprune.org/private-flying/511455-28-day-20-flying-45h50m-ppl-completed-ant-blackpool.html.