PDA

View Full Version : Serious problems on takeoff

John Farley
31st May 2013, 10:11
I am an out of date professional pilot.

In my day when flying an aircraft without parachutes following a serious failure close to unstick I would turn at 30 deg of bank onto the reciprocal of the runway I had departed and fly level at 1000ft agl. If a visual circuit was not possible due to weather conditions I was taught to fly a timed downwind leg for 1 to 2 mins (depending on how soon I had started the turn to downwind) before turning back on to finals and descending to attempt my landing.

Can a modern pilot please explain to me why this is apparently not the normal and best way to fly today?

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
31st May 2013, 10:20
I saw this at Heathrow many years ago John. A Caravelle had just taken off when it made a sharp turn somewhat off it's expected route. He just said: "We have problem". I asked for his intentions and he just replied "Downwind.." We just had time to get the fire wagons out. It turned out that there had been serious smoke on the flight deck and his action probably saved the day.

bzh
31st May 2013, 10:26
I think it's the stats showing that most attempt return after an engine failure after take off in a single engine end up in stall, spin and fatalities.... The teaching has become to land in an open area strait ahead and reduce the risque of a stall trying to return... It's all debatable....

tommoutrie
31st May 2013, 10:29
Nothing wrong with it at all. Serious fire, smoke or similar, thats exactly what I'd do. I'd probably do the same if all engines were significantly playing up - fuel contamination or similar. Whats prompting the question?

31st May 2013, 10:47
Can't believe I'm having a discussion about in flight emergencies with John Farley, except to say that a manoevre that worked at Boscombe Down might put the cat amongst the pidgeons at LHR or CDG.
However, subject to the usual maydays and terrain and traffic awareness, why not?