View Full Version : EASA - PPL Review Jan 2013

stevechew
17th Feb 2013, 22:32
EASA review - January 2013

Introduction

I went to EASA enrolled on their PPL Deluxe course. Despite their claiming course completion within 21 days I scheduled myself 5 weeks, from 3rd January to 7th February. During this time I took a total of 3 days off and a day off due to sickness. I did return home with a PPL licence but no night rating due to a lack of time. Before going to EASA I had not completed any exams or read any of the material. I am a navigation officer in the merchant navy and must admit to going there with the attitude of “how hard could it be”, where in reality, it is a very hard course to do!

The reason for writing a review is because of a lack of any credible reviewers out there. It was very frustrating trying to figure out where to earn as everybody had negative things to say but nothing to explain why.

Starting back at the beginning…

Application Process

All communication was through their chief operations officer and I don't have any complaints about that.

You are guided the while way through the complicated SEVICS, TSA and Visa application process with easy to follow and extremely detailed instructions from the school. This process wasn't cheap with both the SEVICS and TSA registration costing $200 each I think, plus phoning the embassy and a £85 booking fee you're already spending a lot of money before you've agreed to go!

Once I had my visa and booked my flights I was to pay my deposit. Rather foolishly I transferred the whole amount of cash. In retrospect this probably isn't a good idea but it worked out okay, e funds were there in my account when I arrived.

5/5 - I was very satisfied with the level of service and the instructions made the whole process very easy.

Arrival