PDA

View Full Version : Airbus hand-flying characteristics

hikoushi
30th Dec 2012, 08:03
Hello!

Since you folks here always seem to have the answers, I have a question for you. A few, really.

I've been flying the 717 for about 4 years and am just about to start training on the A330. Finally bit the bullet and decided to go take a crack at the big French whale. Looking forward to it immensely, and in the meantime enjoying the last few months of honest flying in an honest airplane. Which brings up the question.

What the hell does it feel like to physically fly the stupid thing? I mean, let's say you have the autothrust OFF and the autopilot OFF. You are level at say, 10,000 feet at 250 knots. You pull the throttles to IDLE without touching the sidestick. What does it do? In every aircraft I've flown up to this point, which includes the 717 as well as a smattering of various regional airline and GA planes prior, the plane will drop it's nose and ATTEMPT to capture it's trimmed airspeed, and enter a descending phugoid of some kind while trying to sort itself out. Instead of letting it bob around drunkenly, we apply a few gentle "guiding" nudges of pressure and maybe a small trim change will establish a flight-idle descent at that same speed.