PDA

View Full Version : Cat 1 Approaches with 1200ft RVR Canadian ops specs approval

bluehawaii
13th Nov 2012, 02:02
Ladies and Gents, does anybody know if there are operators approved to fly Cat I approaches with 1200ft RVR landing minimums in Canada?

punkalouver
13th Nov 2012, 13:35
I am not an expert in this sort of stuff but have a bit of knowledge of it. The answer is yes. But I believe it only helps on certain runways. The Ops Spec is 503.

It states about complying with the requirements of (CAR)Canadian Aviation Regulation 705.48 and (CASS)Commercial Air Service Standard 725.48

Some boring regulatory mumbo jumbo that you might want to skip.

--------------------------------boring regulatory below-----------------------------------

The first digit which is 7 is for Part VII of the regulations covering Commercial Air Services. The second digit can only be 0, 2, or 4(meaning there could be 705.48, 725.48, and 745.48). When us see the number 2 in use, it is the standard concerning regulation 705.48. These are also called CASS(Commercial Air Service Standards) and is where the various options for Operational Control System are described). If there was a 745.48 is would be guidance or advisory information for CAR 705.48 regulation.

The third digit is a 5 which is the subpart. Subparts deal with related topics to Part VII. In this case the related topic, subpart 5, is Airline Operations. Next is 48 which is the section dealing with approach bans.

When you read the regulation, there are various bracketed numbers for each different area such as precision approach, non-precision etc. These are the subsections. Then there are more bracketed digits starting with lower case letters (b) which are the paragraphs. (i), (ii), etc which are sub-paragraphs and finally bracketed upper case letters (C) which are the clauses.

705.48(4)(a)(ii)(B) is part of the stuff you might be interested in.