PDA

View Full Version : Dark cockpit philosophy

freshgasflow
4th Nov 2012, 07:10
I am not sure if I understand this policy correctly. From what I understand, when everything is "normal", the push buttons are unlit. i.e. dark = everything okay. I am curious about what if you have a piece of equipment where it is okay for it to be OFF or ON. Suppose, just for discussion sake, we wanted a cockpit pushbutton for say a coffee maker. Now it is quite normal to have this coffee maker ON for a few hours, just as it is normal to have it OFF for many hours. How would one design such a switch to be dark cockpit compliant? i.e wouldn't the ON coffee maker ruin the "darkness" of the cockpit, even though it is a "normal" condition ? I am not an aviation professional, so would be grateful if someone can clarify this design philosophy. Thank you.

KAG
4th Nov 2012, 08:19
"I am intrigued by this policy." So am I.

Lord Spandex Masher
4th Nov 2012, 08:23
A light also shows when something isn't in the usual position. Not just a fault.

albatross
4th Nov 2012, 20:43
I always remember an incident where my Capt. looked at the caution panel which was lit up like Macy's at Xmas and stated with a sigh: "It appears that the off lights are on. Immediate actions and ECL please." LOL

RTN11
4th Nov 2012, 23:16
The overhead panel would be exclusively dark panel policy. Even if the cabin crew call, it's a yellow warning light on the overhead panel to warn you of this. Nice things are in blue, like "external power available" or "fuelling" but in flight this should obviously be blank.

Same with the central warning panel.

There would then be a separate panel for things which may be on or off, for example engine anti-ice.

Sillypeoples
5th Nov 2012, 20:37