PDA

View Full Version : Is it an old-fashioned TCAS


mugal2000
19th Sep 2012, 14:34
First time to fly an aircraft that it's TCAS dose not show the other traffic(the diamond) even when it's 1000 feet above or below you, but it shows when it was below 1000 feet(only yellow dot) in other words it shows only TA and TRA. is that normal, or something wrong with my TCAS.

loveflyingalways
19th Sep 2012, 14:41
Yep it should be normal as TCAS range vertical is + - 1200 ft vertical and 6NM horizontal

longarm
19th Sep 2012, 15:14
Could be an old fit TCAS. Some of ours only have "pop up" TCAS. You only see the traffic when it becomes a TA.

Cagedh
19th Sep 2012, 15:40
Yes. Just an old TCAS. We still have some of those in our fleet. Doesn't help your situational awareness in busy airspace at all! :{

mugal2000
20th Sep 2012, 00:08
I saw some TCAS goes to +- 9700 ft, when you select above or below the center position normal range.

mugal2000
20th Sep 2012, 00:11
Cagedh
Longarm
LoveFlying,

Thanx for the information.

sevenstrokeroll
21st Sep 2012, 21:21
I know our TCAS is much better than min standard. those goofy little ones showing everything on the VSI are awful.

we have the plus 9700 feet when selecting above and 9700 below when selecting below

we have seen TCAS targets over 40 miles away on our radar screen display. and it is great for situational awareness

avionicsmoke
23rd Sep 2012, 10:51
It might be worth getting your avionics engineers to review the system configuration!
The original configuration settings should be in the installation modification package!

Microburst2002
23rd Sep 2012, 18:32
It's an old model.

It works like modern ones when in THRT only. You seen o traffics until they are advisories or RAs