PDA

View Full Version : BA/Ryanair Accounting

Meering
8th Apr 2002, 21:55
Interesting posting on a financial message board. Anyone know if the figures are in the right ballpark:

http://boards.fool.co.uk/Message.asp?mid=7070836

Meering

Hand Solo
8th Apr 2002, 23:28
Did anyone say dot.com?

cat 3a
9th Apr 2002, 00:13
Very interesting......for people interested in Ryanair Accounting

mikeycollins
9th Apr 2002, 01:03
As an ex accountant I think this is a non story. I think both methods are ok. Look at it this way. If you have a 4 year old car and have it serviced and MOT'd tomorrow..is it worth more than it is today? Of course it is. This article also neglets to say if BA are increasing the capital valuation of its aircraft after each overhaul. It simply says that costs are charged to P&L. Actually the more I think about this the more shifty this story gets. What I believe the author is doing is telling the P&L story of BA and the Balance sheet story of Ryanair. They, of course are interlinked.

inverted flatspin
9th Apr 2002, 02:07
Of all the things that MOL tends to fudge most is numbers, He consistently stretches the truth.

For instance on the add for pilot recruitment on this site he claims 150 new 737's

Actually it is 100 new 737's

With the option for 50 more

and this 100 includes delivery positions already assigned to Ryanair so the real number is somewhere around 89 (It is hard to figure out exactly because Ryanair are lying and Boeing are being a little vauge on their website)

In any case 89 or whatever it is, is not 150

Airfares: How many people actually get on a flight with Ryanair paying the advertised fare? who knows, but from my experience not many.

Accounting practices a bit iffy, does this surprise anyone?

This kind of behaviour could well kill the Goose that laid the golden egg, just look at Enron and the accounting done by Arthur Andersen.

tinyrice
9th Apr 2002, 03:35