View Full Version : Why is Vmd not at the bottom of the power required curve?

Jake Didsbury
18th Jul 2012, 19:12
Hello, I am a student ppl currently studying flight performance and planning.

I am looking at the cruise section, the example I have explains Vmd always occurs at the tangent of the power required curve, however this means it does not fall at the lowest point of the curve.

Power required curve is equal to drag curve? So how come Vmd does not occur at the lowest point, which would seem to be the logical thought being the minimum?

Thank you.

FlyingStone
18th Jul 2012, 22:45
I am looking at the cruise section, the example I have explains Vmd always occurs at the tangent of the power required curve, however this means it does not fall at the lowest point of the curve.

Throw this book away. For both propeller (which is what you are interested in, I presume) and jet aircraft the minimum drag speed (Vmd) occurs where at the most bottom point of the drag curve, where the drag is minimum - as the name suggests. However, unlike propeller aircraft, where maximum range speed is more or less equal to minimum drag speed, in jet aircraft the maximum range speed is approximately 30% higher (IIRC you have to multiply the Vmd with 4th root of 2 to get the exact theoretical speed, but don't hold me to it).

To simplify for propeller aicraft :

Vmd = minimum drag speed = maximum range speed = speed at which the drag is minimum = the lowest point of the drag curve

Jake Didsbury
18th Jul 2012, 22:56
Thank you this makes it much clearer for me!

The other thing I am confused with is why Vmp and Vmd are not equal. I would have expected them to be same but vmd is higher than vmp?

The first thing that comes to mind is to think that for the minimum drag the minimum amount of power would be needed

mrmum
18th Jul 2012, 23:33
I think that the simplified bit is too over simplified to be correct.