PDA

View Full Version : May I see your licence Mr. Examiner?

Spunk
18th Jun 2012, 11:42
I've been flying for twenty years now and I thought I've seen it all. The other week I learnt that there is still a way to top it all:

I've got two students ready to take there checkride. The Aviation Authority designates a Flight Examiner, an appointment is made. The Examiner shows up in time but without any personal belongings (no logbook, no wallet). So I figured it might be a good idea to ask him a few questions about his flying experience on the Hughes 269 etc. and finally ask him to sign a statement that he had made 3 take-offs and landings on type within the last 90 days.

He refuses to sign, gets all mad and threatens to leave and to cancel the checkrides. :eek:
Now that really made me curious. So I tell him that by the way he behaves one has to assume that he doesn't even have a valid type rating which he neither acknowledges nor denies.
A couple of offences later he finally leaves.

So I call up the Aviation Authority to tell them the news that their Examiner wasn't able / willing to prove that he is current on type and ask for a new Examiner. About two hours later they call me back and confirm that the Examiner doesn't even hold a type rating on the Hughes269 :ugh::ugh::ugh:

Ladies and Gentlemen, make sure your Examiner is properly rated and current.

3 Point
18th Jun 2012, 12:40
There was a thread on here a while ago about asking examiners to show their credentials before a checkride. I was amazed how many posted that they would never dare to ask and a few, presumably examiners who stated that they would take great offence.

If I have a pilot (anyone from student to examiner) coming to fly one of my aeroplanes I have a duty as the aircraft operator to ensure that he is properly quaified. If he can't or wont show me the proper paperwork he aint flying my aeroplane - simple!

Happy landings

3 Point

Dan the weegie
18th Jun 2012, 13:13