PDA

View Full Version : Pilot job

C K
25th Apr 2012, 22:50
Hello gents,

I am a pilot with 1300 hrs and about 1000 jet time on B727 B737 Learjet and G1159. Do you know by any chance if it is possible to find a job in Canada.
My licenses are FAA.

Any feedback is highly appreciated

Highsea
28th Apr 2012, 04:25
I highly don't see it happening. 1300 is low time here in the market we have here now. You don't have the time to hold a atpl here. You would need to convert to Transport Canada CPL from a FAA. That's not bad to do. But you need the papers to work here and that's not an easy one.

+TSRA
28th Apr 2012, 23:27
Are you sure you don't want to add a decimal place to your hours? 1,300 hrs total time and you have experience on 4 jets, all of which require a type rating... Would be suspect to me that you have that sort of time with those ratings.

To me, youve either bought them and have limited line experience - in which case you'll be at the bottom of the pilot list because 1,300 is just cutting your teeth in aviation....

Or

There is a typo, you have 13,000 hrs with 10,000 hrs on jets and with 4 type ratings you would be more attractive to operators with you having some actual experience...

I would not even bother trying if you do only have 1,300 hrs because there are literally hundreds, maybe thousands, of guys in the same boat here in Canada. If the latter applies, you'll have much more luck.

Either way, good luck!!

Naples
29th Apr 2012, 12:42
Stay away from Canadian aviation.

Canadian aviation is still pretty 3rd world. For every normal person you meet, you'll meet 10 people who have have "problems" and various "issues", and it only gets worse the older they get (there's an inter-generational 'abuse' cycle going on in Canadian aviation... you'll be hard pressed to find anyone over the age of 30 who is happy and who isn't "damaged" in some way...)

Besides, unless you have permission to work in Canada, you have 0 chance anyway.