PDA

View Full Version : What's going on at Jazz?

GMC1500
14th Apr 2012, 11:38
Just getting bits and pieces of info. Between this and the problems at AC, seems to be a perfect storm over there.

breguet
15th Apr 2012, 15:24
Jazz had a contract to fly B757 for Thomas Cook which is in financial troubles. Cook decided to close almost all their agencies in France and to terminate early their contract with Jazz.

Iver
16th Apr 2012, 02:41
So, what will happen to the current Jazz 757 pilots? Back to the CRJ or new Q400s? Or more likely with their new Boeing time applications out to Emirates and Qatar.... Stepping back into a CRJ after flying the 757 to the Caribbean for a year or two would not be easy. :eek::confused::}

Jet Jockey A4
16th Apr 2012, 11:51
^^^^^ BINGO! Give the man a cigar.^^^^^

4holer
17th Apr 2012, 07:24
I don't necessarily think it is chasing an airplane. It is chasing a lifestyle. I've been flying long haul on the whale since 2005 and I would never go back to domestic short hop flying. Generally (not always) bigger airplanes = longer flights = more time off. Yes it is hard work but so is having to fly 4-6 legs a day. Just a different perspective.

GMC1500
18th Apr 2012, 13:14
Correct me if I'm wrong, but the 57 flying was only for the winter season and the guys had to fly the RJs the rest of the year anyways. I guess it was nice for the less senior RJ capts to get some more time on the 705 while the senior guys played on the 57.
As for them looking to the middle east/china, I somehow doubt it. It would have been only the most senior guys flying the boeing, as in been at Jazz in its various names/companies for 20+ years. I don't see them suddenly picking up everything and moving across the earth, if they'd wanted to do that they could have long ago without the boeing time.
I'm also wondering if it will mean layoffs at Jazz, and more importantly, what all the crap at AC is doing to them, and what they will do if AC folds or drops them.

JammedStab