PDA

View Full Version : Reinforced cockpit doors

jcrewdson
12th Apr 2012, 19:04
I'm a writer who is interested in learning whether any consideration was given to reinforcing cockpit doors prior to 9/11. I have heard, and seen posts on this site, suggesting that there was, and that the FAA somehow managed to table the issue at the behest of the airlines, who did not wish to bear the extra expense involved. Whatever anyone might know on this topic would be greatly appreciated. You can reach me at my private email, [email protected]

John Crewdson

Lookleft
17th Apr 2012, 00:28
Why don't you start with El Al. They had a double cockpit door system after the hijacking epidemic of the 70's. I remember reading somewhere the Israelies recommended all airlines do something similar as it was inevitable that Western airlines would be targeted.

Agaricus bisporus
17th Apr 2012, 10:16
As major changes to regs in aviation are almost always reactive - especially if they cost much money - and those doors cost plenty, believe me, there was no incentive and therefore clearly no need for them prior to 11-9 in the eyes of the indsutry. Israeli security consultants may have thought otherwise but convincing Western airlines to shell out $Ms for a hypothetical threat just wasn't going to happen.