PDA

View Full Version : Oxford or CTC for MCC/JOC??

The_green_penguin
16th Mar 2012, 18:56
I would be grateful for some advice on where to undertake the MCC/JOC courses...? I am a modular student and had originally planned to go to Oxford on the 737-400 full motion sim. However, I've heard from fairly reliable sources that CTC holding pools are relatively empty at the moment, which has made me think perhaps it would be better to apply to the CTC Airline Qualification course (albeit somewhat more expensive) and try and get myself in the holding pool. Anyone able to confirm or deny these rumours??

Or should I save my money and go to somewhere reasonably priced like European at Bournemouth?? Does it really make a difference where you do this part of the training (e.g. Is it beneficial to have OAT or CTC on your Cv)??

Many thanks in advance.

Captain Spam Can
17th Mar 2012, 13:21
CTC as the pool is empty but regardless if it wasn’t you would have a place in it to await your turn for a jet job. The AQC is highly regarded and has been going since the 90's, placing thousands of people with the UK's leading airlines. I’m sure Oxford would deliver a top class product as well but that’s as far as it goes. I am biased but facts are facts. If were just comparing the courses themselves you wouldn’t go round completing them at either organisation. :ok:

Dan the weegie
17th Mar 2012, 15:50
Oxford is good but very overpriced. They will not give you any help whatsoever in getting a job with an airline without having been on the integrated program. If you can get the AQC at CTC it's a much better option but if it's neither then go to one of the other full motion jet ones that have been mentioned already.

porridge
17th Mar 2012, 17:05
Try CRM Aviation - look for some good posts about them on this forum. Competitively priced and apparently very good value for money. Some Senior, ex Oxford, staff working there come highly recommended I believe.

Captain Spam Can