PDA

View Full Version : Being Gay in Emirates

GMIMA
5th Mar 2012, 17:41
Hi guys

I'm currently a first officer with my eyes set on command early next year on the 320, however, I'm thinking I might like to join emirates as a first officer , however there are a couple of big sticking points.

1. I'm gay, I'm not camp and I don't advertise the fact that I am.
2. Civil partnership relationship
3. Two large dogs

All three points I can't change.

Question is, are there any openly gay pilots at emirates? Dubai is very westernised, however I understand that being gay is illegal.

Do you think a gay guy would be able to make it?

Cheers

Wizofoz
5th Mar 2012, 18:04
Well, ALL unmarried sex is illegal, and as such all unmarried pilots remain celibate in Dubai:rolleyes:

In other words, keep it discreet and I don't think you'd have a problem, though there is no way you will get any type of benefits for your partner, as nothing close to a civil partnership agreement exists .

Neither the dogs nor living with your partner would wash in company accommodation ( you'd only be entitled to an apartment ) so the best option would be to opt- out, take the Housing Allowence and rent a place that allows pets.

givemewings
5th Mar 2012, 18:35
Put it this way, you'll never be short of friends down the back of the plane and there's opportunities to party everywhere you go if that's your thing.

I'm kinda jealous :E

Keep a low profile and you should be good, as the others have said, 'that' is illegal so none of us are doing anything we shouldn't be.... :=:}:ok:

Sorry, no provision for staff travel etc, them's the breaks... perhaps one day we'll be allowed to take friends travelling with us (for those w/out 'traditional' families) ...we live in hope...

Popgun
5th Mar 2012, 20:10
You might be interested to read this:

LGBT rights in United Arab Emirates - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LGBT_rights_in_United_Arab_Emirates)